Binding Portfolio

Now that not only the last semester, but also the old year, has truly passed, I thought it might be nice to highlight some of the bookbinding final products I created in 2011.  One nice thing about my bookbinding internship was that it gave me a chance to focus on physical skills; so often in library school we simply tax our brains and forget about the importance of our bodies, both in the realm of librarianship (e.g. bookbinding, creating exhibits, the library as physical space…) and in larger life (e.g. exercise, eating well, hobbies…).  Bookbinding has been a wonderful skill to add to my education, but it also gave me that physical and artistic outlet that is so hard to come by in library school, and for that I’m extremely grateful.  It also gave me a little more perspective on the academic side of things, and the ways in which I can balance academic and artistic in the semester to come and in my future career and life.  Plus, of course, it gave me a small portfolio of rebound books which I can call my own.  Now, on to the books!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And if you ever check out a book from the library that has the initials “CWW” and a date penciled in the back flyleaf, you’ll know you are holding one of my rebinds.  ( :  Here’s hoping I have more to show off in 2012!

About Zee

Taxidermist, street outreach worker, witchy, trans, tarot student, writer, fiber artist, and naturalist in Minnesota.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment